Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Designating Criminal Cases after July 1, 2014

June 26, 2014 by Editor

New case types are coming when the Criminal Code Revision Act (H.E.A.1006) becomes effective on July 1, 2014 and the court reporting forms have been modified to accommodate the changes. You can preview the new QCSR form at:

On April 23, 2014, the Court approved the following case types to be used for felonies committed on or after July 1, 2014:

Case Type Description
F1 Level 1 Felony
F2 Level 2 Felony
F3 Level 3 Felony
F4 Level 4 Felony
F5 Level 5 Felony
F6 Level 6 Felony

The actual Court Order can be viewed at:

The existing felony case types (FA, FB, FC and FD) must be used for all felonies committed on or before June 30, 2014. This means we will now have two sets of felony case types and which case type to use is determined solely on what date the felony was committed (not the date the charges are filed).

We have received many questions about converting the current classes of crimes in caseload allocation plans to meet the new classifications. In general, the following table can be used:

Current Code HEA 1006
Murder Murder
Class A Level 1
Class A and B Level 2
Class A, B, and C Level 3
Class B and C Level 4
Class C and D Level 5
Class D Level 6

If you have questions about the new case types, please contact Jeffrey Wiese, Director of Trial Court Services at the Division of State Court Administration, 317-234-1873 or